Saint Lent-il

Despite being a fence-sitting Agnostic I have decided to reunite the wonder of a loose-fiting loin cloth and scuff around madly in a pair of roman sandals. Yes, I am going to party like its 2 AD * and embark in the Catholicism rite that is Lent.

During Lent, one must give up something indulging or unhealthy for the sake of being more moral and virtuous. It is good for the soul and basically, I believe our modern day hedonisitic lifestyle could do with a good bible-whacking of some serious Lent sacrifices.

My future brother-in-law is giving up chocolate for the season but admits that this taste may be too difficult to achieve. As chocolate is a staple food in my diet I have instead decided to give up Facebook -the social networking scum between my toes – yet again.

Yes, I have given it up before for Lent and I reflect on that time with some fondness.  It was a time in which I did not need to know that Charlie is eating a delicious, delicious pickle sandwich.

I mean how selfish of Charlie! I want a pickle sandwich. But I will suffice.

What am I hoping to achieve from giving something up? ‘Coz we all know that those we who have addictive personalities just pick up something else up to fill in that time-waster (in my case a blue and white void of status updates and walls).  Well, I still have the internet in all her beautiful web glory, my email, mobile phone and this blog.

 

Let’s hope this time away from stalkbook gives me time to write more. The time is there its just whether I use it productively or not. Amen.

 

*Estimated guess of historical time period, bound to wrong.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under blogging, catholic, creative careers, lent, life, philosophy, pop culture, religion, writing

Leave a Reply

