When girls grow up…They’ve got to be sexy

The other week I went to a party with the costume theme: “when I grow up..”  It seemed pretty straight forward.  However upon conversing with a fellow supermarket employee ( a male) about what I should dress up as I was a bit shocked. These gender generalisations were confirmed later by google images when googling costume ideas.


A (mostly) true conversation:

Shannon: Hey Pat, what should I dress up as to this party I’m going to? The theme is when I grow up..

Patrick: A sexy nurse

Shannon: Umm.. Or, I could go as a secretary or business-woman.

Patrick: A hot, short-skirted secretary

Shannon: A policewoman?

Patrick: A stripper policewoman

Shannon: A spy or FBI agent?

Patrick: Lara Croft tomb raider oh yeah!

Shannon: A footballer?

Patrick:  Nah, that’s too manly.

Shannon: Right.. Well how about I go as a prostitute then?

Patrick: That could work.

 

In case you’re wondering I ended up dressing up as a flight attendant (no mile-high jokes please). But yes there was all of the above occupations in their sexualised form at the party. There was even a few girls who wore shirts proudly with the word “Hooters” on them.  Is this a sign of sexual liberation of young women, or just women buying into the social belief that they are just sex icons and doing what seems to be expected of them?

Leave a comment

Filed under feminism, life, thinking, thoughts, work

Leave a Reply

