A week of Dream Dictionaries

You’ve looked at them idly in the supermarket line. Picked them up, thumbed through them. Then with a sigh you have put them down. Dream dictionaries…

I picked up my mystical, fortune-telling baby from the book fair, 10,000 Dreams Interpreted: A complete guide to the meaning of your dreams. With such a promising title, and for only a dollar who can deny such a great New Age indulgence? Plus, as it boasts on the blurb, it is a “well-known classic dream reference book.” There you go!

I had always blamed my weird and kooky dreams on an overactive imagination, or perhaps the fault of the two (or four..) chocolate biscuits I had eaten before bed-time. The high sugar intake could easily explain a spastic attack of neuron activity in my brain. But this book is promising me more than just merely chemicals, it’s a subconscious fortune-telling device.

Whoah! Apparently Plato, Shakespeare and Napoleon themselves had dreams with great prophetic value and as a message from a “divine” origin. Dreams, and the strange sight they have provided for people over the centuries seems to give evidence in the existence of a spirit or soul when physiological evidence or science cannot explain.

I’m an agnostic but I will give the book a chance to unleash my spiritual wild side and interpret a few of my dreams throughout the week and see if it provides any guidance in my life…The book is 500 plus pages and covers everything from Abandon to Zoological garden.

Sunday:

I dreamt I was with an old friend and we were walking up a street. I was wearing a gold hat which fell off in the wind and blew away. I was also wearing a black wig, and a man’s shirt. My friend was wearing a wig as well.

Gold: If you lose gold, you will miss the grandest opportunity of your life through negligence.

Hat: For the wind to blow your hat off, denotes sudden changes in affairs, and somewhat for the worse.

Wig: To dream you wear a wig indicates that you will make an unpropitious change. To see others wearing wigs is a sign or treachery entangling you.

Street: foretells ill luck and worries. You will almost despair reaching the goal you have set up in your aspiration.

Hmm… For some reason this reminds me of Harry Potter when Professer Trelawney keeps foretelling Harry with omens of doom.

Monday:

A girl was crying because she had had an abortion. She kept saying over and over again, “I had an abortion. I had an abortion.” Then (somehow) I became the girl and was led downstairs for something to do. An iron was left on and I switched it off at the power point. I cleaned some dishes.

Abortion: For a woman to dream that she assents to abortion being committed on her, is a warning that she is contemplating some enterprise which if carried out will steep her in disgrace and unhappiness.

Iron: To dream of ironing, denotes domestic comforts and orderly business.

Dishes: To dream of handling dishes, denotes good fortune.

Wednesday:

I dreamt that my friend was reading my diary and someone else had written comments in it. I was too busy reading the newspaper to care. We then went to a carnival and there were elephants and bands.

Newspaper: To dream of newspapers, denotes that frauds will be detected in your dealings and your reputation will like-wise be affected.

Elephant: To see many elephants, denotes tremendous prosperity.


Friday:

I was walking up the street to my house and a tree had fallen on my house. My Dad came rushing out told me that him and Mum were alright but my sisters had been killed by the tree. I started crying hysterically.

Trees: Dead trees signal sorrow and loss.

Death:  To hear of seeing any of your people dead, warns you of coming dissolution or sorrow.

Crying:  To dream of crying, is a forerunner of illusory pleasures, which will subside into gloom, and distressing influences affecting for evil business engagements and domestic affairs – umm, huh?

So there you have it, a week of dream dictionary boot-scooting fun! Am I more insightful? Did any of these dreams match my everyday life? Am I going to be the next leather sandaled messiah or prophet?

Sadly, no. As I am more of a glass half full rather than empty kind-of girl I felt the whole analysis to be too pessimistic for me. The dream dictionary seemed to keep giving me negative fortunes unless I seem to be washing dishes or surrounding myself with the “domestic comforts of the iron.” Was this book serious?

The interesting thing about dreams is even though they seem to be randomly mashed up storylines they still have some personal connection with me. The strong emotions I felt in Friday night’s dream reminded me that I had not spoken to one of my sister’s for awhile, upon awakening I phoned her immediately. Sunday night’s dream meanwhile told me that a gold hat and a black wig were not a good fashion decision.

Dreams and their mysterious nature will continue to fascinate me but for the meantime my 10,000 dreams interpreted book will go back on the bookshelf – to collect dust.

2 Comments

Filed under books, dreams, philosophy, thoughts, writing

2 responses to “A week of Dream Dictionaries

  1. Great post. Your attitude comes across well in the way you write. “Great voice” the editors would say. Anyway, dreams are fascinating. The best way to approach them is to 1) ask yourself, what was the predominate emotion you felt in the dream (e.g. sorrow, happiness, fear, jealousy, pathetic, disheveled, etc. 2)where has this emotion fitted into my current life while awake? And you can likely interpret your own dream. I’ve had some good dream books that gave me some good insight. I can’t find them right now…

    • freedomtights

      Hello! Thanks for the kind words. Yeah, I think self analysis is probably the way to go. I can usually work out why certain things are reoccuring and what not. Dream Dictionaries are limited in what they can offer, and like horoscopes they are little bit ad hoc and I’m not really into the whole destiny, predetermined stuff.

Leave a Reply

