Lip Lit Review: Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

My lack of blog posts is due to my laptop freezing on me. And not the good type of frozen, like frozen pizzas. Just more like dead, frozen and soulless computer activity. I think my laptop may have sold its soul, if computers had souls?  Eternal damnation.. Below is my second review for Lip magazine, first published here.

Don’t mess with God or women

Meet Victor Frankenstein. He’s an egotistical, loner-scientist who seeks godly esteem by creating his own masterpiece, his own “child.” Victor gives “birth” to this creation by trawling through graveyards (as you do) and assembling parts and limbs of the dead together like a thousand piece jigsaw puzzle. Volia! Frankenstein’s DIY child: just add limbs and organs! No female required, coming soon to a store near you!

 It is hard when reading Mary Shelley’s 1831 text to not take all the pop cultural baggage of Frankenstein’s baby on board. Puns aside, one must remember that this was written before Frankenstein costumes of deformed green faces were on display at your local supermarket for Halloween. We must remember that Frankenstein, in Shelley’s book, is the name of the scientist himself and the monster – sadly – remains unchristened and unnamed.

 The novel slots into a gothic/science fiction category and is known famously for heeding the warnings of science taking its work outside the realm of morality. During the 19th Century science was fast becoming the popular kid in town. Science was not merely for intellects pursuing knowledge but also for the common person who sought entertainment in science fairs and shows. Now in the 21st Century, in the Western world Science has pretty much kicked God off its mighty pedestal as the creator of the universe. Shelley’s warnings and concerns may be seen relevant in the ongoing debate of cloning animals and persons regarding human nature.

Like what your eyeballs see? Read the rest here

3 Comments

Filed under article, blogging, books, feminism, literature, philosophy, writing

3 responses to “Lip Lit Review: Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

  1. Gem

    I’ve been reading your posts forever but I never comment.
    I love gothic fiction, and I’ve had this one sitting on my shelf for a while. I still haven’t had the chance to read it, thanks to uni, but I shall, and I will enjoy it all the more now I have read this, because I know what to expect! Its sometimes harder to read classic literature if you don’t have an idea whats coming, I think. Like you want to read it, but you just don’t know if its going to be worth it, so you need some incentive. But now I know to wait if it gets boring, because the impending gory massacre of Frankensteins family is on its way! :D

  2. freedomtights

    Hello stalker :)
    Classic texts are an effort to read but I find they are more satisfying. Plus you can always boast to your literary mates in a high posh voice, “Oh yes Daffney I have read Frankenstein and it was rather ghastly was it not? But personally I believe a more thorough and intensive piece like Tolstoy’s Love and War is worth reading a third or fourth time. Oh and Oscar Wilde! Don’t get my started on him! Oh but if you insist he is quite a chap isn’t he? He reminds me of myself actually….”

    I wasn’t that impressed of Frankenstein to be honest, it was not gory enough for me. Sad yes, and interestingly told but the last hundred pages were sooo boring. I am much preferring Dracula!

  3. Gem

    Oh, Tolstoy? I assume you are thinking of WAR and Peace there? WHy yes I’ve read that one and anyone who RE-reads that one would have to be at least 100 years old, because I’m pretty sure I won’t be going near it in the next century! :P your right though, they can be a lot more satisfying to read. I won’t surrender my sci-fi novels just yet tho -that will happen the day I stop eating chocolate. which is never!
    but really, to be honest, I’ll read anything if it sits still long enough. :P

Leave a Reply

