My Romantic History @ Red Stitch Review

Before you move on to my review of My Romantic History, I’d just like to let you that I’ll be writing for Buzzcuts – a website for the Melbourne Fringe Festival, I’m an intern writer! Yippeee! So be expecting a few more artsy-fartsy reviews for me. And that does not mean that I am putting my nose up at the arts, that is a compliment. I love the artsy-fartsies, the old men in their funny little poet hats and the women with their clown-red lipstick and an overly articulate spleen. Oh yes, the spleen does have a function after all. Or is it the appendix I’m thinking of? Or are they the same thing? I’m not good with my science, I’m more into arts you see. Read on for theatre review! Raise the curtain!

 

My Romantic History@ Red Stitch Theatre         

We all have them. We keep them squished deep within the closet. The hidden trove of the by-gone lover, the hunky-dory school crush, the embarrassing Bogan partner – Our romantic histories.

DC Jackson’s play “My Romantic History” will hit a nerve with its audience for this reason, it’s so darn familiar. The successful Scottish play has been adapted for Aussie-theatre goers, director David Whitely has smoothed over all the cultural references fit for an inner-city Melbourne tale of lovers and life.

The play opens to the humorous, but strangely appropriate set of three toilet cubicles where we meet the office newbie Tom (played by the impressive Tim Potter, a Red Stitch favourite). Tom is the protagonist in the first part of the play, he is your fair-dinkum, thirty-something year old, single Aussie. At after work drinks Tom and his colleague Amy (Zoe Boesen) have two (or nine) drinks and end up sleeping together. What should be a standard one-night stand is made more complicated by the mixed communication of one another and their expectations.

By adding in some comic monologue, flash-backs of Tom’s past-girlfriends and even a spontaneous dance routine their office relationship becomes incredibly funny and quirky. Intriguingly the second half of the play is told from Amy’s – or more notably the female’s perspective – increasing the weight of the romantic baggage and giving an insight to a single female’s social expectations.

This is a genuinely fantastic play, despite the lack of resources and only comprised of three actors, Red Stitch has shown us again that a great story is about creativity. However  if the “c” bomb offends you, I can tell you right now –this play isn’t for you, so Mum and Dad perhaps it’s best to give this one a miss.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under article, melbourne, melbourne theatre, review, theatre, writing

Leave a Reply

