A Week of Writing Events

This is me right now:

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am one happy chappy because I have this week is a week of attending talks and workshops about writers and writing. It’s no secret that the Melbourne Festival is currently getting literary nerds excited. Emerging Blogger writer Sam Van Zweeden has an awesome list of events she’s attending. All of the MWF events I am attending are free events due to the sad state of my bank account as there is nothing below $19.50 for a single event. That’s about 18 cans of lentils I can’t buy to make lentil pie right there.

I also got selected to participate in the very exciting Media Talks run by Faunstina A’golley which guests like Megan Miller (features writer, Herald Sun), Auskar Surbakti (journo for ABC),  Sarah Wilson (writer, presenter) Darren Rowse (pro blogger and social media expert) and more.

I will be updating my blog throughout the week to give the low-down on the events. Here is how my week is looking:

Today, Saturday 25th August

Big Issue Fiction Lauch at MWF: The much talked about Big Issue edition of the year themed around Apocalypse. It was hyped about earlier in the year when James Franco announced he would be contributing to the issue. There is also short stories from Tony Birch, Sophie Cunnigham, my uni mate Rafael S.W and more. I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy.

Tuesday 28th August

A lunchtime conversation with Robin Hemley at RMIT: he is the current direct for the IOWA Non-fiction program, editor for Defunct and general awesome writer being published in every American literary journal in print. I hope some of his magic can rub off on me.

Thursday 30th August

Media Talks in Collingwood: So many amazing media industry people talk about their experience in the industry and tips about how to jam your foot in the media world door.

Friday 31st August

Thoughts on Thoughts at MWF: Cognitive neuroscientist Michael Corballis talks about the human brain and all the great stuff it can do like composing music, thinking about thinking, and bull-shitting.

 

What are you up in the coming week?

Leave a comment

Filed under blogging, books, writing

Leave a Reply

