News: Buzzcuts, Little Spines, The Big Issue and beyond!

It’s true I have been neglecting my blog for the past few weeks. It hasn’t been high on the list of Things to Do with uni finishing up and my sister’s wedding this week. The truth is I’m a bit bored of my blog and need to find a need blog project to get stuck into. I’m still trying to work out what to do, but I’m thinking a weekly post, possibly exploring the excellent realm of Gumtree. What would you like to see more of?

I have spent my days outside soaking up the Vitamin D, reading and getting prickly heat rash. Life is generally good.

Other news!!

If you happen to get your hands on a copy of this fortnight’s The Big Issue you’ll see my first Big Issue article in there! My dear mother rang me the other day laughing her head off at the title. ‘Jaws: A horror story.’ Thanks Mum.

I’ve been a reviewer for Buzzcuts this year again which meant going to many different Melbourne Fringe Festival shows. So much fun!  The most bizarre show by far was 6ft Fairy’s Birthday Surprise but I also saw some comedy about racism, a contemporary circus where tradies danced to NSYNC’s ‘Bye, bye, bye’ and saw many drunks on a Melbourne Ghost Tour.

Little Spines was launched last Monday by Alice Pung, it’s a beautifully designed anthology with RMIT’s best creative writing pieces edited by the 3rd year BA Creative Writing kids. I’ve got a piece in there ‘Choose Your Own Adventure’ where you are an artist who likes drawing penises. Warning: All endings in the story are not happy ones. Little Spines is not currently released for public sale, but will be in the near future. Watch this space for more information.

3 Comments

Filed under writing

3 responses to “News: Buzzcuts, Little Spines, The Big Issue and beyond!

  1. Hey, just went to Rmit bookshop for little spines purchase, they don’t have it. Any idea where I can get a copy?

    • Shannon McKeogh

      Hi Lawruh, I think they may be stocking it in the near future, but I’ll ask around and find out where else you can your hands on a copy :)

    • Shannon McKeogh

      Hey Lawruh, so I asked around and yeah it’s not out in bookstores yet, but I’ll let you know. Hopefully Readings will even stock some :)

Leave a Reply

