Hey, what’s inner peace without chocolate?

fac805fa0354fba1bba3b8ec345e6172

I wouldn’t call myself a troubled soul. I’m just your average human. I have my good days, my crappola days and plenty of dull times in between.

Yet the self-help section of my book shelf is increasing in size. I just can’t seem to get enough of self therapies, psychologies and modern philosophies. I find these books comforting, as a way to think about the world differently. I know that sounds strange, as self-help books seem indulgent and a little bit selfish but philosophy makes me think outside of myself.

In the last month along I purchased the following books: The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin and How to Find Fulfilling Work by Roman Krznaric.

In November I read a few books on meditation and the amazing Rewire your Brain by John B. Arden which talks about the mind and body connection in a more physical way.

In The Happiness Project, Gretchen makes many changes in her life for a whole year in an attempt to make her life happier. One of the things that worried Gretchen was that the experiment was completely self-involved when it occurred to her that her happiness increased others, ‘I gave this question a lot of thought. In the end, I sided with the ancient philosophers and modern scientists who argue that working to be happier is a worthy goal. According to Aristotle, ‘Happiness is the meaning and the purpose of life, the whole aim and end of human existence.’ .. Contemporary research shows that happy people are more altruistic, more productive, more helpful, more likable, more creative, more resilient, more interested in others, friendlier and healthier.’

Although I haven’t finished this book it has encouraged me to pursue many things more and thinking about life and happiness is one of those things. I also did a massive clean-up and did some chores that I had been putting off.  It’s weird but reading this book makes me feel more motivated.

I also recently bought a ticket to go see Russ Harris’s talk ‘The Self Esteem Trap’ in Melbourne in February. (Yeah, I totally dig the ACT stuff man!)

A new year is a good excuse to carry on with my enjoyment in these things. And for the self-agonising writer in me, the resolution is the same old story: stop procrastinating and just write damn it!

Now that I am more settled and not holidaying, suffering from a terrible head cold (I was sick for a week during Christmas time) and have better internet access I’m super keen to bring Freedom Tights back to life! I will try and share how my self-help/philosophy interests are going. Although don’t expect anything like Eat, Pray, Love!

Thanks for sticking with me

x Shan

Oh and I’m not sure yet if inner peace without chocolate is possible!

1 Comment

Filed under philosophy, thinking, thoughts, writing

One response to “Hey, what’s inner peace without chocolate?

  1. Pingback: Review: Wheat Belly |

Leave a Reply

